Contact email: mesreads AT gmail.com
###Winner Announcement Posts are linked here.###

GIVEAWAYS ARE NOW LOCATED ON THEIR OWN PAGE - CLICK ON TAB ABOVE; Giveaways also linked on right sidebar.

Sunday, December 9, 2018

Sunday Post December 9, 2018/It's Monday! What are You Reading? Plus Mailbox Monday December 10, 2018

Sunday Post #318 Chairs, Compliance, and Storms
I am linking with Sunday Post at Caffeinated Book Reviewer.

It's Monday! What Are You Reading now at The Book Date (at Wordpress).
What Are You Reading, is where we gather to share what we have read this past week and what we plan to read this week. It is a great way to network with other bloggers, see some wonderful blogs, and put new titles on your reading list.


The people working on my office are making plans to remove the bricks from the roof so they can tarp it. Hopefully that will get done this week and we can move on to drying out the inside.
I got hubby to join me a little while this week for some decluttering! Yay.

My listening was good but reading was still slow this week. I finished two audio books and one ebook. I posted four reviews and my usual memes.

I only got to visit 20 blogs again last week.
Shout Out this week to Go Beyond Book Club, which shares great holiday reading ideas... and more.
Thank you to all the nice people who visit me.

These were last week's posts:
  • A2018- Audio Book Review: Elite by Mercedes Lackey; Fantasy; My Rating: 4.25 of 5.0 Overall, Story and Narration.
Finished Reading:
1. Audible/Smartphone (ATBR)



Jacob T. Marley
By: R. William Bennett
Narrated by: Simon Vance
Length: 4 hrs and 13 mins
I really liked this - it is a bit of a surprise.
Source: 2017 Audible Daily Deal $1.95.
Click on book title for full description.



2. Audible/Smartphone (A2018)



Villains Rule
The Shadow Master, Book 1
By: M. K. Gibson
Narrated by: Jeffrey Kafer
This is a fun listen (with warnings for language).
Source: Audible Credit Purchase November 2018.
Publisher's Summary
Hi, how are you?
Yes, I am talking to you, the reader of this book's description. It's rude not to answer a person when they ask you a question. Okay, I get it, fourth-wall breaking is overdone. Get over it. This book, Villains Rule, is a fantasy action-comedy which you have to hear. Not because it redefines the genre, far from it. But rather for what it contains. A villain's tale.
How often do you get to listen to a story where the villain is the protagonist? No, not an anti-hero, or a brooding monster, nor a hero thinly disguised as a villain. And not evil. If you want evil, take that nonsense to therapy. No, I mean a villain's villain. The ones who use their power because they can, while morality is only a philosopher's complex.
This is the story of Jackson Blackwell, the Shadow Master and the top villain adviser. Sadly, even the top villain occasionally gets double-crossed. Trapped in one of the fantasy realms, Jackson has to use his skill and wits to exploit the rules, points out the genre flaws, undermine godly authority, and win the day.
Because that is what villains should do, shouldn't they? Listen to this book, have a few laughs, and find out.
©2017 Michael Gibson (P)2017 Michael Gibson



3. eBook/Kindle and Smartphone (NG2018)


Decluttering at the Speed of Life: Winning Your Never-Ending Battle with Stuff
by Dana K. White
I enjoyed this and have started 
slowy implementing the rules.
Source: NetGalley 2018.
Click on book title for full description.



Currently Reading:
1. Audible/Smartphone (A2018)



All Systems Red
By: Martha Wells
Narrated by: Kevin R. Free
Series: Murderbot Diaries, Book 1
This is a short audio that is engaging.
Source: Audible 4/20 Daily Deal Purchase $1.95.
Publisher's Summary
All Systems Red is the tense first science fiction adventure novella in Martha Wells' series The Murderbot Diaries. For fans of Westworld, Ex Machina, Ann Leckie's Imperial Raadch series, or Iain M. Banks' Culture novels.
All Systems Red tackles questions of the ethics of sentient robotics. The main character is a deadly security droid that has bucked its restrictive programming and is balanced between contemplative self-discovery and an idle instinct to kill all humans.
In a corporate-dominated spacefaring future, planetary missions must be approved and supplied by the Company. Exploratory teams are accompanied by Company-supplied security androids, for their own safety.
But in a society where contracts are awarded to the lowest bidder, safety isn't a primary concern.
On a distant planet, a team of scientists are conducting surface tests, shadowed by their Company-supplied 'droid - a self-aware SecUnit that has hacked its own governor module, and refers to itself (though never out loud) as "Murderbot."
Scornful of humans, all it really wants is to be left alone long enough to figure out who it is. But when a neighboring mission goes dark, it's up to the scientists and their Murderbot to get to the truth.
©2017 Martha Wells (P)2017 Recorded Books



2. eBook/Kindle and Smartphone (NG2018)


A Chance at Christmas
by Beppie Harrison
I am a third in this and like the characters.
Source: 2018 NetGalley.
Click on book title for full description.




3. eBook/Kindle and Smartphone (NG2018)


Someone to Trust (A Westcott Novel Book 5)
by Mary Balogh
I started this on the phone. I'm enjoying Balogh's usual sweet romance development.
Source: 2018 NetGalley.
During a rare white Christmas at Brambledean Court, the widow Elizabeth, Lady Overfield, defies convention by falling in love with a younger man in the latest novel in the Westcott series.
After her husband's passing, Elizabeth Overfield decides that she must enter into another suitable marriage. That, however, is the last thing on her mind when she meets Colin Handrich, Lord Hodges, at the Westcott Christmas house party. She simply enjoys his company as they listen to carolers on Christmas Eve, walk home from church together on Christmas morning, and engage in a spirited snowball fight in the afternoon. Both are surprised when their sled topples them into a snowbank and they end up sharing an unexpected kiss. They know there is no question of any relationship between them, for she is nine years older than he.
They return to London the following Season, both committed to finding other, more suitable matches. Still they agree to share one waltz at each ball they attend. This innocuous agreement proves to be one that will topple their worlds, as each dance steadily ensnares them in a romance that forces the two to question what they are willing to sacrifice for love. . . .



December 9, 2018 - I am up to date and enjoying the One Year Bible plan reading through You Version App. Although I am on track on my smartphone I haven' t been steady for each morning and find myself finishing the reading at the end of the day instead of beginning. I need to get back to starting my day with scripture.
I am up to date on the additional reading plan started 11/12: Names of God, Thanksgiving and Christmas.
[You can check out audio of the One Year Bible Plan on the companion commentary online.]


I completed three books and posted four reviews. That makes some headway so I have only 4 reviews to post now.
I am slowly adding these reviews to Goodreads, Amazon and Audible. I still have older ones to catch up on too.
My NetGalley shelf is now at 8. I'll read at least two more before adding more near the end of the month. I still have one author title in queue. Still many through InstaFreebie and many new author requests I haven't replied to.



Welcome to Mailbox Monday.

Mailbox Monday is a gathering place for readers to share the books that came into their house last week and explore great book blogs. This Meme started with Marcia at A Girl and Her Books (fka The Printed Page) and after a tour of hosts has returned to its permanent home at Mailbox Monday. Thanks to the ladies sharing hosting duties: Leslie of Under My Apple Tree, Serena of Savvy Verse & Wit and (yours truly). Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists.
I didn't add any review titles.
I picked up one Audible Daily Deal and one free Audible Original. I also selected two titles with one credit at Audiobooks.com.
I didn't pick up any Kindle paid titles.
I only picked up 12 free kindle titles again. (Note these are in my Amazon library, NOT on my Kindle until I download and transfer them.)
Are your mailbox and TBR piles blooming?


Review Titles
NONE

Won
NONE

Purchased
12/9/2018
Audible Daily Deal $2.95
I Will Find You audiobook cover artI Will Find You
Solving Killer Cases from My Life Fighting Crime
By: Joe Kenda
Narrated by: Joe Kenda
Length: 8 hrs and 17 mins
This sounds interesting.

I used my Audiobook.com Credit to pick up two titles:
Bring Me Home for Christmas details
Bring Me Home for Christmas
by Robyn Carr
Narrated By: Therese Plummer
Duration: 7 hours 34 minutes
Tis the Season: Under the Christmas Tree/Midnight Confessions details


Tis the Season: Under the Christmas Tree/Midnight Confessions
by Robyn Carr
Narrated By: Therese Plummer
Duration: 6 hours 21 minutes
These two should make nice Christmas season listening!


Free
Zero G audiobook cover artZero G
By: Dan Wells
Narrated by: Emily Woo Zeller, Margaret Ying Drake, Josh Hurley, Eddy Lee, Jennifer Van Dyck, Allyson Johnson, David Shih
Length: 4 hrs and 8 mins
This was an easy pick as it looks like fun.

I only added 12 free titles to my Kindle library over the past week - little spare time before crashing to sleep. Titles found linked through Bookbub, Bookfun, Ereader News Today, Free Par-tay, Ignite Your Book, Inspired Reads, Pixel of Ink or Kindle ebooks.

14 comments:

  1. We did a major decluttering before our move. My weekly update

    ReplyDelete
  2. Ah I love the Virgin River series and especially the Christmas ones. I just bought a couple of extra audios with the Audible sale, to boost my listening for 2019. And I put Someone to Trust into my wish list there. My word it is going to take a long time to get your office back to working order.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I really hope to read the Mary Balogh at some point. And yay for the Robyn Carr books - she's an auth-read/listen for me. Have a good week, Martha!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Thank goodness for audiobooks! Good job on your NetGalley shelf.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Audio books save me this time of year. I'm intrigued by I Will Find You - it sounds like something I'd like.

    ReplyDelete
  6. You and I are both in the decluttering mood! I like the look of Mary Balogh. Enjoy your new books.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Maybe I should pick up a decluttering book! It's been three years since I last did a major sweep through here. Enjoy your reading, and thanks for visiting my blog.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I have an ebook copy of All Systems Red that I really want to read soon!

    My list

    ReplyDelete
  9. This must be the week for de-cluttering. I hope you office is back in shape soon. Martha Wells is an author I want to try. I've heard good things. Come see my week here. Happy reading!

    ReplyDelete
  10. I keep seeing de-cluttering books around, they look good. Enjoy your books, I love Mary Balogh's writing.

    ReplyDelete
  11. ooh, a book on Marley, narrated by Simon Vance? this has to be good!!

    ReplyDelete
  12. I enjoyed Jacob T. Marley I bet it was fun on audio. Love the Murderbot diaries too! Awesome :) Declutter is something I need to do, kids moving in and out have caused clutter.

    ReplyDelete
  13. The decluttering book looks good. Something I'm working on now so would probably be a great addition :) Good luck!

    ReplyDelete

Your comments are always appreciated!

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails