Contact email: mesreads AT gmail.com
###Winner Announcement Posts are linked here.###

GIVEAWAYS ARE NOW LOCATED ON THEIR OWN PAGE - CLICK ON TAB ABOVE; Giveaways also linked on right sidebar.

2017HoHoHothonLRGGiveaway Ending November 15, 2017 (11:59EST)
HoHoHo Readathon Mini Challenge Giveaway: Holiday Sentence

Tuesday, January 3, 2012

2012 Challenges - Post Five (15 - 19 ) - Mystery Related

Fifteen, Sixteen and Seventeen, Mysteries and Cozies - Completed
Nineteen (Criminal Plots) and Twenty (In Death)

All of these challenges involve mysteries so I have grouped them together.  I was looking for the Suspense Challenge where you have to pick a book from various themes of suspense like legal, cozy, serial, detective, etc. If anyone has seen that challenge please let me know as I'd like to sign up for that too. :-)
FIFTEENMystery & Suspense




I will do Twelve
(This list does not include Romantic Suspense.)

01. Deeper Water by Robert Whitlow; Christian Mystery; my rating 4.75.
02. The Whisperer by Donato Carrisi; Psychological Thriller; my rating 4.5
03. Bleed For Me by Michael Robotham; Crime Fiction; my rating 4.25.
04  Lethal Legacy by Carol Ann Erhardt; a little mystery, a little romance; my rating 4.0.
05. Illusion by Frank Peretti; Paranormal, Christian Fiction; my rating 4.5.
06. Desperate Housedogs by Sparkle Abbey; Mystery; my rating 4.0.
07. Get Fluffy by Sparkle Abbey; Mystery; my rating 3.75.
08. Web of Evil by J.A. Jance; Mystery, Thriller; my rating 3.5.
09. Wired Kingdom by Rick Chesler; Thriller; my rating 4.25. 
10. Her Royal Spyness by Rhys Bowen; Mystery (Historical); my rating 4.25.
11. Whisper II: The Books by Terry Rich Hartley; Psychological Thriller; my rating 4.25.
12. Forgive Me Alex by Lane Diamond; Psychological suspense thriller; my rating 4.5.
13. Dark Side of Valor by Alicia Singleton; Christian Suspense; my rating 4.75.
14. Tidewater Inn (The Hope Beach Series) by Colleen Coble; Christian Mystery Romance; my rating 4.5.


SIXTEEN: Cozy Mystery

What's a cozy you ask?
A cozy mystery generally follows a few guidelines:
1) It is clean, no language, very little if any sexual situations, no gore.
2.) Cozies are lighter in nature than a mainstream mystery or thriller. (Readers who loved Nancy Drew and Trixie Belden as young readers will love cozies!)
3.) Cozies usually have a female protagonist but not always (a few are male), who has another day job.
4.) Cozies are about amateur sleuths, not professionals.
5.) Cozies generally have a small town setting but that's not always the case.

Sign-Ups for this challenge will run from December 4, 2011 to February 4, 2012.
I am choosing:  Level 2 Gumshoe: 4 to 6 Cozy Mysteries

SEVENTEEN: Cruisin' thru the Cozies


To find out exactly what a cozy mystery is, check out Cozy-Mystery.com. This site is dedicated to cozy mysteries and does a great job of defining them as well as giving a list of cozy mysteries.
I choose Level 1 - Snoop - Read at least 6 books

For Sixteen and Seventeen:
01. Lethal Legacy by Carol Ann Erhardt; a little mystery, a little romance; my rating 4.0.
02. Desperate Housedogs by Sparkle Abbey; Mystery; my rating 4.0.
03. Get Fluffy by Sparkle Abbey; Mystery; my rating 3.75.
04. Nipped in the Bud by Susan Sleeman; Cozy Mystery, Christian; my rating 4.25.
05. A Fistful of Collars by Spenser Quinn; Cozy Mystery; my rating 4.0.
06. Everybody Loved Roger Harden by Cecil Murphey; Cozy Mystery, Christian Fiction; my rating 4.0.
07. A Brew to a Kill: A Coffeehouse Mystery by Cleo Coyle; Cozy Mystery; rating 4.5.


EIGHTEENCriminal Plots II
This year's Rules of the Road:

You'll be reading six books between January 1, 2012, and December 31, 2012. One book should be read that fits into each of the following categories:
1. Novel with a weapon in the title (examples: A Night of Long Knives, A Nail Through the Heart, Sharp Objects, The Rope, Lay Down my Sword and Shield) NO

2. Book published at least 10 years ago - this should be an easy one, time to pull out those backlists (examples: Goodnight Irene, The Black Echo, Indemnity Only)  NO

3. Book written by an author from the state/provinence/etc. where you live. (I live in Ohio, so examples for me would be Carla Buckley, Les Roberts, Craig McDonald) No One Left to Tell by Karen Rose; Romantic Suspense; my rating 4.75

4. Book written by an author using a pen name (i.e., Spencer Quinn, Ross Macdonald, Ariana Franklin, Noah Boyd, Juliett Blackwell, Lisa Black)  Desperate Housedogs by Sparkle Abbey; Mystery; my rating 4.0.

5. Crime novel whose protagonist is the opposite gender of the author (i.e., Demolition Angel, Bury Your Dead, Calumet City)   Deeper Water by Robert Whitlow; Christian Mystery; my rating 4.75.

6. A stand-alone novel written by an author who writes at least one series (i.e., El Gavilan (Craig McDonald), Long Gone (Alafair Burke), The Lock Artist (Steve Hamilton), Envy the Night (Michael Koryta), The Most Dangerous Thing (Laura Lippman)) Illusion by Frank Peretti; Paranormal, Christian Fiction; my rating 4.5.



NINETEENIn Death Series
This challenge calls for reading one IN DEATH book each month.  Since I have been reading these books I'm glad to do this!
I'll be starting the year with book:
7.5. "Midnight in Death" (in the Silent Night anthology or the Three in Death anthology)
 Midnight in Death by J.D. Robb; Crime Thriller; my rating 4.0.                

No comments:

Post a Comment

Your comments are always appreciated!

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails