Contact email: mesreads AT gmail.com
###Winner Announcement Posts are linked here.###

GIVEAWAYS ARE NOW LOCATED ON THEIR OWN PAGE - CLICK ON TAB ABOVE; Giveaways also linked on right sidebar.

Wednesday, December 2, 2015

Audible Book Review: Omega Rising: Omega Force, Book 1 by Joshua Dalzelle

This is an quick, fun space adventure with likable characters and good action.
Omega Rising: Omega Force, Book 1
Written by: Joshua Dalzelle
Narrated by: Paul Heitsch

Length: 6 hrs and 41 mins
Series: Omega Force, Book 1
Unabridged Audiobook
Release Date:10-24-14
Publisher: Joshua Dalzelle
Genre: Sci Fi
My Rating: 4.0 of 5.0


Publisher's Summary
Jason Burke was a man hiding from himself in a small cabin high in the American Rocky Mountains when his simple, quiet life was shattered one night by what he first assumed was an aviation mishap. But when he investigates the crash, what he finds will yank him out of his self-imposed exile and thrust him into a world he could have never imagined. He suddenly finds himself trapped on a damaged alien spacecraft and plunged into a universe of interstellar crime lords and government conspiracies, along the way meeting strange new friends… and enemies. As he struggles to find his way back home he is inexorably drawn deeper into a world where one misstep could mean his death. Or worse. He desperately wants to get back to Earth, but it may be the end for him...or is it just the beginning?
©2013, 2014 Joshua Dalzelle (P)2014 Joshua Dalzelle


Review:
Jason Burke is a former military man who has suffered losses. He has chosen to live secluded in a small cabin in the Rocky Mountains. A quiet night is disturbed when he hears and sees what he believes to be an aviation crash. He arrives on site to offer aid but accidentally gets trapped in a damaged alien spacecraft. He discovers the ship is manned by a ‘synthetic’ (humanoid-like robot) named Deetz. Jason wonders why there are no other living beings and is surprised when Deetz asks him to stay on board as the commander and help complete a secretive mission.

Although Jason has some misgivings, it is hard to refuse the opportunity to be the first human to see Jupiter up close and step onto Mars! Fortunately the ship responds to Jason as the recognized commander. Deetz is very secretive of his mission and as the undisclosed cargo is being loaded, two small craft start firing on the ship. Jason picks up a local mechanic, Twingo, who was caught in the cross fire and Deetz whisks them away from the hostile pursuit.

Jason is glad to have a new friend in Twingo but they soon learn that Deetz has unhealthy business connections. A rather nasty mob leader coerces Jason into taking on a delivery run. An angry “Doc” (a medical geneticist) is added to the crew along with a few henchmen. Jason, Twingo and Doc begin to share notes and discover some common issues. They are soon making plans to release captured aliens, hoping they will be grateful for the rescue. Three unique characters are added to Jason’s crew in the process of completing the rescue and making their escape. This group declares themselves to be the Omega Force with the mission to help those who can’t help themselves.

I liked the opening of the book but the next two and a half hours is a bit drawn out setting the scene of Jason on the alien ship. After that the plot thickens with danger, action, conspiracy, betrayal and battle. Although the translators make the characters all seem human, they are not. I liked the newly added characters: Crusher, the giant warrior, Cage, the four armed computer hacker, and Lucky Seven, a mammoth battle synth.

The writing is straight forward making for easy listening. I enjoyed the easy pace, the creative plot, the good action and the light humor in this opening book. I look forward to enjoying more in the series. Readers who enjoy Star Wars or Firefly type episodes, might want to try this out.

Audio Notes: Paul Heitsch does a nice job with the narration. It may not be stellar but it captures the military tone and carries the varied alien voices. The narration enhanced my reading enjoyment and I recommend it for a quick listen.

I received this title through Audiobook Jukebox. It qualifies for my Audio Challenge.

1 comment:

  1. This sounds interesting and I like military suspense.

    ReplyDelete

Your comments are always appreciated!

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails