Contact email: mesreads AT
###Winner Announcement Posts are linked here.###

GIVEAWAYS ARE NOW LOCATED ON THEIR OWN PAGE - CLICK ON TAB ABOVE; Giveaways also linked on right sidebar.

Monday, August 17, 2015

Sunday Post August 16, 2015/It's Monday! What are You Reading? Plus Mailbox Monday August 17, 2015.

Sunday Post - It's Monday! is still not up and linking while Sheila finds her way after her family tragedy.
Kathryn at Date Book suggested linking with Sunday Post at Caffeinated Book Reviewer.

This meme starts at Book Journey!
What Are You Reading, is where we gather to share what we have read this past week and what we plan to read this week. It is a great way to network with other bloggers, see some wonderful blogs, and put new titles on your reading list.

I am still fighting this throat cough and upper respiratory tightness. But I continue to get better sleep than the first two weeks before antibiotics. I see the Doctor again this Tuesday.

I had a little extra time for reading/listening as we traveled to Biloxi (to visit son and family) and back.

I enjoyed my reading, finishing five total: one print, two ebooks, and two audio. I posted four reviews, one with print Giveaway. I posted the usual memes, although a couple ran late.

I didn't get to visit last week between still going to bed early at the beginning of the week and limited internet and time at the end. I hope to do better this week.
Thanks as always to all the nice people who visit me.

These were last week's posts:
Finished Reading:
1. eBook/Kindle

Dark Horse
by Michelle Diener
This was great entertainment.
Click on book title for full description.

2. Print

Double Exposure (The Justice Agency Book 1)
by Susan Sleeman
This is soled romantic suspense. 
Review and giveaway are linked above.
Click on book title for full description.

3. Audible

Petticoat Detective
Written by: Margaret Brownley
Narrated by: Jaimee Draper
This was a nice listen.
This was in my Audible library from December 2014.
Click on book title for full description.

4. Audible

The Remaining
Written by: D. J. Molles
Narrated by: Christian Rummel
I found this approach to zombie ""virus" to make for an engaging listen
I had this in my Audible Library from Feb 2015.
Publisher's Summary
In a steel-and-lead-encased bunker 20 feet below the basement level of his house, a soldier waits for his final orders. On the surface, a plague ravages the planet, infecting over 90% of the populace. The bacterium burrows through the brain, destroying all signs of humanity and leaving behind little more than base, prehistoric instincts. The infected turn into hyper-aggressive predators, with an insatiable desire to kill and feed. Someday soon, the soldier will have to open the hatch to his bunker, and step out into this new wasteland, to complete his mission: Subvenire refectus. To rescue and rebuild.
The Remaining is the first book in the best-selling series, which tells a gritty tale of survival, perseverance and fighting to get back what has been lost.
©2012 D.J. Molles (P)2013 Audible, Inc.

5. eBook/Kindle

A City Called Smoke: The Territory 2
by Justin Woolley
This is a good second in the series although with plenty of danger and a few more twists.
The battle was only the beginning; the real danger is beyond the fence ...
The Diggers have been destroyed, a horde of ghouls is moving inland and the High Priestess has seized control of the Central Territory. Together with Nim, a Nomad boy seeking vengeance against the ghouls, Squid and Lynn begin their long journey toward the city of Big Smoke, a city that may not even exist.
Pursued by forces that wish to see them fail, facing threats on all sides and conflict from within, Squid, Lynn and Nim search for a weapon against the ghouls. It is a search that will lead them into forbidden lands where long-held beliefs about their world are tested and Squid may finally unravel the truth of his identity.
But even if they survive their journey, the teenagers on whom the fate of the Territory now rests have no idea what dangers await them beyond the fence.
Perfect for fans of James Dashner's Maze Runner series and Michael Grant's Gone series.

Currently reading:
1. Audible

The Witch with No Name: The Hollows, Book 13
Written by: Kim Harrison
Narrated by: Marguerite Gavin
This was in my Audible Library from Sept. 2014.
Publisher's Summary
After 10 years and 13 adventures, at last the triumphant conclusion to Kim Harrison's number-one New York Times best-selling Hollows series!
In 2004, Kim Harrison made her debut with Dead Witch Walking, an electrifying urban audiobook novel full of action, mystery, romance, and humor, which introduced bounty hunter and witch Rachel Morgan. Over the course of 12 books, Rachel confronted numerous threats, vanquished a range of cunning and powerful enemies, risked her heart, suffered haunting loss, and nearly lost her life. Now, in The Witch with No Name, Kim Harrison brings back her wildly popular heroine for one final, epic battle.
Rachel Morgan's come a long way from the klutzy runner fleeing a bad job. She's faced vampires and werewolves, banshees, witches, and soul-eating demons. She's crossed worlds, channeled gods, and accepted her place as a day-walking demon. She's lost friends and lovers and family, and an old enemy has become something much more.
But power demands responsibility, and world-changers must always pay a price.
That time is now.
To save her best friend's soul and the rest of the living vampires, to keep the demonic ever-after and our own world from utter destruction at the hands of fanatics, Rachel Morgan will risk everything.
©2014 Kim Harrison (P)2014 HarperCollins Publishers

2. eBook/Kindle

To Honor You Call Us (Man of War Book 1)
by H. Paul Honsinger
I am 30% in on this and really enjoying the strategy.
I received this from NetGalley.
The Terran Union is engaged in a vast interstellar war against the Krag, ruthless aliens intent on exterminating humankind. In 2315, the wily Max Robichaux is given command of the USS Cumberland, a destroyer with state-of-the-art capabilities but a combat record so bad, she’s known as the “Cumberland Gap.”

Capt. Robichaux’s first mission: to take his warship to the Free Corridor, where the Krag have secretly been buying strategic materials, and to seize or destroy any ships carrying enemy cargo. Far from the fleet and under enforced radio silence, Max relies only on his determination and guile…and the support and friendship of his chief medical officer, the brilliant Dr. Sahin.

Because even as he deals with the ship’s onboard problems and the stress of carrying out her risky assignment, Max and the doctor discover that the Cumberland and her misfit crew are all that stands in the way of a deadly Krag attack that threatens to end the war—and humanity—once and for all.

A far-future story in the tradition of “ships of wood, men of iron” novels, To Honor You Call Us and the Man of War series combines the adventure of exploration, the excitement of war, and the dangers of the unknown through the eyes of a ship and her crew.

3 eBook/Kindle

Secrets at Maple Syrup Farm (Once in a Lifetime)
by Rebecca Raisin
I discovered I only had a sample of this. 
I have sent the file to my Kindle again and I think I have the whole book now.  
I selected this at NetGalley.
Maple sugar kisses
Click on book title for full description.

June 1, 2015- I am still up to date on Bible reading and greatly enjoying the readings-- It seems my eyes are open to more details and meaning.. I am reading The One Year Bible again along with my husband and others from our church. I am also listening to the companion commentary online.

I posted four reviews last week which left one plus four new for this week. I need to continue to work hard on reviews.
I finished two and am reading two NetGalley. I added one new book so my waiting shelf has five NetGalley titles.
I have pulled in some TBRs which makes me glad. 

Welcome to Mailbox Monday.

Mailbox Monday is a gathering place for readers to share the books that came into their house last week and explore great book blogs.  This Meme started with Marcia at A Girl and Her Books (fka The Printed Page) and after a tour of hosts has returned to its permanent home at Mailbox Monday. Thanks to the ladies sharing hosting duties: Leslie of Under My Apple Tree, Serena of Savvy Verse & Wit and Vicki of I'd Rather Be at the Beach. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists. 

I added just one NetGalley title this past week; I selected my two Audible choices and purchased one Kindle book.
I picked up a free Audible title as well as adding more free kindle titles to my library.

(I still have many author requests, old and new ones, to consider and reply to.)

Are your mailbox and TBR piles blooming?

Review Titles
I selected one title at NetGalley this week.
Product Details

The Last Chance Christmas Ball
by Mary Jo Putney, Jo Beverley, Joanna Bourne, Patricia Rice, and Cara Elliott
Several good authors I really like.
I saw this at some other blogs and was glad to find it still available at NetGalley.


I have 180+ titles in my Audible Wish list so sometimes it is hard to pick two titles.
I selected these two audiobooks with my July Credits:
The Remaining: Aftermath | The Remaining: Aftermath
By D. J. Molles
I want to continue this series.

Resurrecting Home: A Novel |
By A. American
I realized this series had a fifth book so I picked it up now.

I made this Kindle Purchase so I can continue this series to:


I picked up another audiobook for free at Audible:
FREE: Summer Farmer: A Story from White Man's Problems |
By Kevin Morris

Over the past week I again added 45 free Kindle titles to my library this week. Titles found linked through Bookbub, Bookfun, Ereader News Today, Free Par-tay, Ignite Your Book, Inspired Reads, Pixel of Ink or Kindle ebooks.


  1. All the holiday tittles on Netgalley are really tempting me! Hope you enjoy The Last Chance Christmas Ball.

  2. The Last Chance Christmas ball looks like a good read and like the look of the Petticoat Detective. Hope you continue to get rid of that respiratory bug, not fun.

  3. Hope you feel better very soon.

  4. It's hard to believe it's almost time to be reading Christmas books! Enjoy!

  5. Continue to rest, Martha. I hope you feel much better next week.
    I'm going to see if The Last Chance Christmas Ball is still available at NG.

  6. I just read The Witch with No Name this week. It is nice to finally finish a series. It seems like I have so many long-running series on my reading list. Here is what my week looked like. Happy reading!

  7. I hope you enjoy your books!

  8. I love Netgalley. The Last Chance Christmas Ball sounds good. Happy reading!

  9. I love the Hollows and just started her new series. I hope you feel better, is it an allergy thing? I know a lot of folks have some kind of cough going on.


Your comments are always appreciated!


Related Posts with Thumbnails