Contact email: mesreads AT
###Winner Announcement Posts are linked here.###

GIVEAWAYS ARE NOW LOCATED ON THEIR OWN PAGE - CLICK ON TAB ABOVE; Giveaways also linked on right sidebar.

Tuesday, November 4, 2014

Book Review and eBook Giveaway: Pushing the Limit (Alpha Ops) by Emmy Curtis

This is a very fast paced, high intensity read.
Pushing the Limit (Alpha Ops)
by Emmy Curtis 
  • File Size: 929 KB
  • Print Length: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Forever Yours (November 4, 2014)
  • Sold by: Hachette Book Group

Genre: Military Romance
My Rating: 4.25 of 5.0

They're tough. They're brave. And they'll do anything for the women they love. They're the Alpha Ops. In the tradition of Suzanne Brockmann and Julie Ann Walker comes a sizzling new high-octane romantic suspense novel from rising star Emmy Curtis.


After their one-night fling at a wedding, archaeologist Henrietta "Harry" Markowitz thought she'd never see war hero Matt Stanning again. So when they're paired up to investigate a military plane crash in Iraq, she's not sure if the three-month reunion is serendipitous or cursed. What she does know is this gorgeous man lights her body on fire-and incredible sex is always a welcome distraction.

Air Force Sergeant Matt Stanning has been called a hero, but he feels nothing like one when he realizes the sexy blonde in his bed is the widow of his fallen brother-in-arms. Even worse, he actually has to work with her, and she's unearthed evidence that points to a military conspiracy. If they dig deeper, they'll put their lives in danger. If they don't, they'll never know the truth-not only about the mysterious plane crash, but about each other.

Henrietta “Harry” is an archaeologist who married her teen sweetheart and then lost him when he died in an explosion that occurred during his specialized service in Iraq. Harry has held him in her heart and buried her need for anything but work and no-commitment relationships. One of those one night encounters occurs at a wedding of a friend when she meets Matt. They didn’t really get a chance to hook up although it was a close thing and both have fantasized about the other. She didn’t expect to ever see Matt again but is pleased to see him arrive as a military liaison on her dig in Iraq.

Matt was with his team of EOD (Explosive Ordnance Disposal) specialists when his friend died. The death sent him into a spiral of guilt where he relieves the pain with quick one night stands. He also shifted divisions so he no longer works in EOD but rather brings home the missing bodies of other servicemen.

Matt has no idea the petite, sexy woman he met a few months before was his friend’s widow or he would never have ended up in bed with her. Now he has to try to resist their combustible attraction while keeping her safe from a growing danger.

Harry and her team have reported finding a piece of metal that may be from a downed aircraft. That is what brought Matt to the site. Now they have located the outlines of a buried box. They have some conjecture of what it might be and, although they are keeping the details secret, Harry has spoken with another colleague who has been engaged to dig in an adjacent sector. When the man ends up dead after leaving dinner with Harry, the danger really revs up.

I liked Harry and Matt although their initial meetings are rather heavy on the sexual side.  I will give warning that there are several graphic and hot sexual encounters. Still, there is good emotional engagement, interesting secondary characters, betrayal and plenty of danger to keep the story interesting and moving quickly.

This is the first story I have read by Ms. Curtis and I enjoyed the intensity and action. Although part of a series this read fine as a stand alone. I recommend this to readers who enjoy fast-paced military romance and don’t mind some steamy scenes.

I received this title from Grand Central/Hachette/Forever Romance through NetGalley for a launch day blitz and honest review.

Buy Links

About Emmy Curtis
Emmy Curtis is an editor and a romance writer. An ex-pat Brit, she quells her homesickness with Cadbury Flakes and Fray Bentos pies. She's lived in London, Paris and New York, and has settled for the time being, in North Carolina. When not writing, Emmy loves to travel with her military husband and take long walks with their Lab. All things considered, her life is chock full of hoot, just a little bit of nanny. And if you get that reference...well, she already considers you kin.
Social Links

EXCERPT: [Sorry - I have shortened this excerpt as I have a family friendly site. There may be more available at other sites participating in the blitz. :-)]
     Matt heard her sharp intake of breath and wondered if he’d misjudged his attempt at lightening her mood.
     There was a second in which he opened his mouth to explain, when there was a shifting in the air around him, and just as his lightning instinct had him reaching for his weapon, a soft projectile thwomped into his face, knocking him backward and off the bed.
     “No one makes fun of my pain without incurring the wrath of the pillow ninja,” she hissed.
     Relief and outrage vied for pole position as he immediately planned his revenge. He let out an agonized groan.
     “Oh my God.” He heard her scrambling over the bed to the foot where he’d fallen from. “I’m so sorry, did you hurt—”
     He reared up, wrapping his arms around her legs, and launched her back onto the bed. She bounced like a rag doll as he grabbed the cushion he’d taken from the lobby and swiped at her as she tried to right herself.
     “Ooff,” was the only thing she managed to say.
     Victory is mine. “Truce?” he asked from a safe distance.
     “My hand is caught in the headboard.” She giggled. “I swear it’s not a trap. I’m an honorable foe, unlike you. Look, or feel.”
     Still keeping his distance, he put out his hand where he thought her shoulder should be. It was soft. Heat rose in his body.
     “Okay, airman, it’s not my breast that’s trapped, it’s my hand,” she said with a totally audible grin.
One Winner at this blog will get an ecopy of Pushing the Limit from the publisher through NetGalley.

(Don't forget to fill in the form for entry!
I have noticed a few commenters who forgot to enter through the Form.)
For 3 Extra Bonus entries comment on this review, OR
visit THE AUTHOR'S Website and tell me something you like/learned there.

* This contest is open US and Canada Only.
* This contest will close 10 PM (Central) November 14, 2014.
Winners are asked to respond, within 72 hours, by email or the winners form linked in the announcement.


  1. Looks like a steamy read with a whole lot of action. As for the author, she's an ex-pat Brit, who quells her homesickness with Cadbury Flakes, and Fray Bentos pies.

  2. love that cover!!! Looks and sounds fantastic! Thanks for sharing :)

    1. oops... I entered twice on the form... I forgot I had entered yesterday... losing my mind! Sorry!

  3. Good to know it can be read as a standalone


Your comments are always appreciated!


Related Posts with Thumbnails