Contact email: mesreads AT
###Winner Announcement Posts are linked here.###

GIVEAWAYS ARE NOW LOCATED ON THEIR OWN PAGE - CLICK ON TAB ABOVE; Giveaways also linked on right sidebar.

Thursday, February 27, 2014

Book Review: Surviving Home: A Novel (The Survivalist Series) by A. American

This is another engrossing episode to this action-packed series.
Surviving Home: A Novel (The Survivalist Series)
by A. American
  • File Size: 705 KB
  • Print Length: 528 pages
  • Publisher: Plume (June 25, 2013)
  • Sold by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC
Genre: Sci Fi, Post Apocalyptic
My Rating: 4.5 of 5.0

Book Description
Publication Date: June 25, 2013
Book 2 of The Survivalist Series
No electricity. No running water. No food. No end in sight. If life as you knew it changed in an instant, would you be prepared?

In A. American’s first novel, Going Home, readers were introduced to Morgan Carter, the resourceful, tough-as-nails survivalist who embarks on a treacherous 250-mile journey across Florida following the collapse of the nation’s power grid. Now reunited with his loving wife and daughters in this follow-up to Going Home, Morgan knows that their happiness is fleeting, as the worst is yet to come. Though for years Morgan has been diligently preparing for emergency situations, many of his neighbors are completely unready for life in this strange new world—and they’re starting to get restless.

With the help of his closest companions, Morgan fights to keeps his home secure—only to discover shocking information about the state of the nation in the process.

Fans of James Wesley Rawles, William R. Forstchen's One Second After, and The End by G. Michael Hopf will revel in A. American's apocalyptic tale.

Book Two picks up where Book One ended, with our characters having arrived home to their families. Now they have to sort how they will proceed to protect their families in their own communities. Very quickly there are those who didn’t prepare seeking handouts from others and threatening to take what they feel they need. Morgan takes a firm stance against those who might try to steal from his family or who threaten them. This creates bad feelings with some of the other residents. The deputy sheriff in the community won’t back Morgan nor make strong decisions. There are moments of coming together but then there are raiders who attack and Morgan puts out a call to Sarge for help.

Thad was pretty isolated with his family and a neighbor who had a nice little farm. He helps out the older farmer who provides food supplies in exchange. Then thieves attack the old man and Thad has to make hard decisions. Next government in the form of a postal worker with a security guard comes knocking on the door to give Thad and his wife assignments in a work camp. Thad has prepared his family to run but the men return before he can get his family out safely. Thad seeks revenge before heading out to join Morgan.

Meanwhile Sarge and the guys are moving from camp to camp as they are hunted by enemies and trying to join up with friendly forces. They finally get assignments to act as raiders when they find the opportunity and they combine that assignment with responding to Morgan’s call for help.

This story really causes one to think how you would respond in similar circumstances. There is great opportunity for fear of neighbors, raiders and the government. There is a fine balance of trying to help while still maintaining a protective base for your own loved ones. There are some brutal and gruesome scenes that some readers might shy away from but I still recommend reading and skimming those sections if the reader is squeamish.

This read very quickly considering the number of pages. I was so engrossed in this episode that I was startled and dismayed when it came to an end with a surprising cliff hanger! I will definitely be picking up the next books in the series!

I received this title for review through NetGalley.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Your comments are always appreciated!


Related Posts with Thumbnails