Contact email: mesreads AT
###Winner Announcement Posts are linked here.###

GIVEAWAYS ARE NOW LOCATED ON THEIR OWN PAGE - CLICK ON TAB ABOVE; Giveaways also linked on right sidebar.

Friday, November 4, 2011

Book Review and ARC Giveaway: I Didn't Ask to Be Born by Bill Cosby

I have to agree with the blurb comment - I'm glad Bill Cosby was born and chooses to continue to share laughter.
by Bill Cosby
  • Hardcover: 208 pages
  • Publisher: Center Street (November 1, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0892969202
  • ISBN-13: 978-0892969203
Genre:  Comedy
My Rating: 4.0 of 5.0
Product Description
The world's most beloved funnyman is back with his first humor book since the bestselling Cosbyology. In this hilarious new collection of observations, Cosby brings us more of his wonderful and wacky insights into the human condition that are sure to become classics. In the tradition of Fat Albert, Cosby introduces a host of new characters, including Peanut Armhouse and Old Mother Harold. Not since Mushmouth, Dumb Donald, Bucky, and the Cosby Kids has there been such a memorable cast.

Over the past century, few entertainers have achieved the legendary status of William H. Cosby, Jr. His success spans five decades and virtually all media-remarkable accomplishments for a kid who emerged from humble beginnings in a Philly housing project.

The doctor of comedy holds forth on everything from a game show contestant's confusing origins, to a grandchild with a Godzilla infatuation, to his first love Bernadette, and many more delightful digressions.

Bill Cosby may not have asked to be born, but we're sure glad he was.
Review: This is a book that can bring a smile ...or several. :-)
Bill Cosby has always had a humorous way of looking at situations and he is a wonderful story teller.  This book opens with a story that was not made up by Cosby but happened while he was the talk show host for You Bet Your Life. Marcia Broody was the straight-faced guest who got Cosby lost looking for North, SC that was southeast of Due West. It is a great bit and had me laughing out loud!

There are stories of Cosby’s childhood days in the projects. He makes the neighborhood come alive in your mind from the poor raggedly-dressed children to the mothers who demanded respect. There is lots of humor in softball play “around back” and playing cowboys with your mother’s broom as your mighty steed.  It is fun to read the stories and wander with Cosby as he rambles and digresses and then returns to the original story.

Cosby also has a knack for stories about God with a Biblical foundation, a vivid imagination and great tongue in cheek. I have always loved his “Noah” routine. This book includes a fine routine about Adam and Eve.

There are tidbits on raising children, including how to respond when a child rebels with the phrase “I didn’t ask to be born.”  There are also insights on Native Americans, voice mail, items that wouldn’t have been mentioned in the early days of TV, and some reminisces of fond  grandparent moments.

The book is short and easy to pick up and read in one sitting or to read one vignette at a time.  The illustrations might be called “chicken scratch” drawings but they are just wonderful. The ARC also contains spots which I think are for photos which would add even more visual fun. If you are looking for light, clean entertainment this is a great choice for yourself or a friend who needs a “pick-me-up” smile.

Thank you to Center Street for providing this book for review.

TO ENTER THIS GIVEAWAY for the paperback ARC copy:
1. I will give you a choice: visit the author's website and tell me something of interest you found there; OR take a peek at the Open Book and tell me what you think of the illustrations there! OR tell me if you have a favorite Cosby story/routine. One or these is required for entry.

2.  For an extra entry, become a follower or tell me if you are already a follower.

3.  For two entries, blog, facebook, tweet (any of those networks!) about this giveaway and tell me where you did.

It isn't necessary to use separate entries unless you want them in different chronological order.
(Four total entries possible.)

* Open to the US & Canada only.
* No PO boxes, please.
* This contest will close 10 PM (Central) on November 18, 2011.
The winner will be randomly selected from all entries.
Winners will have 72 hours to respond by email or the winners form linked in the announcement.


  1. My favorite routine by Bill Cosby is one my father and brother repeat periodically. His wife has left him with the children and they want cake for breakfast and he decides that cakes are made with eggs, wheat and butter so it is good for breakfast.
    I follow on GFC
    mce1011 AT aol DOT com

  2. My favorite Cosby story: My daughter bought me tickets to see Bill Cosby last year and it's one of the best gifts I've ever received! I was fortunate enough to have seats in the center second row and I could almost reach out and touch him! He would look right at me and it felt like he was sitting in my livingroom just being himself. So, so very funny...and lovable!
    mamabunny13 at gmail dot com

  3. I already follow you via gfc - mamabunny13
    mamabunny13 at gmail dot com

  4. I love the News portion of the web site :) edysicecreamlover18@gmailDOTcom
    Thank you for the chance to win!
    GFC Krystal Larson

  5. My favorite Bill Cosby routine is when he talks about the Jell-o pudding. I love that and laugh every time. I also love just to hear him do his live stand up routine. He is amazing.

    I follow you on networkedBlogs


Your comments are always appreciated!


Related Posts with Thumbnails