Contact email: mesreads AT
###Winner Announcement Posts are linked here.###

GIVEAWAYS ARE NOW LOCATED ON THEIR OWN PAGE - CLICK ON TAB ABOVE; Giveaways also linked on right sidebar.

Sunday, June 12, 2016

Sunday Post June 12, 2016/It's Monday! What are You Reading? Plus Mailbox Monday June 13, 2016

I am linking with Sunday Post at Caffeinated Book Reviewer.

It's Monday! What Are You Reading now at The Book Date.
Thank you to Sheila for the years that she handled this meme.
Thank you to Kathryn for taking up the baton.
What Are You Reading, is where we gather to share what we have read this past week and what we plan to read this week. It is a great way to network with other bloggers, see some wonderful blogs, and put new titles on your reading list.

This week was better in the office. Heather was back and Meghan was out visiting her mother. I am still playing catch up but getting better I think.
We are still having warm weather with on and off rain.

I did pretty well with reading and got at least three reviews posted, one with giveaway and another with guest post. I finished three books --two audio and one ebook. I posted my usual memes, with an extra Sharing Beyond Books which was late.

I enjoyed visiting Monday and Tuesday nights but didn't get back after that.
Thanks as always to all the nice people who visit me.

These were last week's posts:
  • Book Review: Cast Adrift by Mannah Pierce; Sci Fi; my rating 4.5.

Finished Reading:
1. eBook/Kindle (iRead)

Regina Shen: Resilience
by Lance Erlick
My review is linked above.
I received four books for this tour;
through iReads Book Tours.
The next review will be 6/23.
Click on book title for full description.

2. Audible/MP3 (ABB)

Dangerous and Unseemly: A Concordia Wells Mystery, Book 1
Written by: K.B. Owen
Narrated by: Becket Royce
I enjoyed this engaging historical mystery.
I received this audio title from the narrator through AudioBook Boom.
Click on book title for full description.

3. Audible/MP3 (Author)

Birthright: Ivy Granger, Psychic Detective, Book 4
Written by: E.J. Stevens
Narrated by: Melanie A. Mason, Anthony Bowling
I liked this second book, full of Ivy sass and action, even more than the first.
I will be hosting the tour Giveaway and review this week.
Click on book title for full description.

Currently reading:
1. eBook/Kindle (Author/Publicist)

Guardian of Paradise
by W.E. Lawrence
I enjoyed Chakana: Encounter In The Sacred Valley and I am glad to read another adventure by this author.
Click on book title for full description.

2. Audible/MP3 (ABJ)

Beware the Little White Rabbit
Written by: Shannon Delany, Judith Graves
Narrated by: Rhiannon Angell
I am looking forward to listening to this collection.
I received this audio through
Audiobook Jukebox.
Publisher's Summary
Curiosity often leads to trouble....
Thirteen powerful voices in young adult fiction invite you to journey into startling new wonderlands in this nod to the 150th anniversary of Lewis Carroll's timeless character, Alice.
Mystery. Madness. Mayhem...
Each story in this collection will intrigue, bewitch, and enchant. Through rich historicals, castles and keeps, wild wormholes, secret workshops, deadly plagues, and gritty urban explorations, we present new tales of Alice and her white rabbit.
Whether an intrepid reporter, a would-be car thief, or the last human in a world ruled by machines, at the heart of each story Alice is a girl discovering who she really is in worlds that never fail to surprise.
What wonders await, oh curious listener? Leap down the rabbit hole and discover the truth....
Contributing authors: Charlotte Bennardo, C. Lee McKenzie, David Turnbull, Christine Norris, Jacqueline Horsfall, Medeia Sharif, Laura Lascarso, Tom Luke, Jessica Bayliss, Crystal Schubert, Holly Odell, Jennifer Moore, and Liam Hogan
©2015 Leap Books (P)2015 Leap Books

3. eBook/Kindle (NG)

Laos File (The Shake Davis Series)
by Dale Dye
I was invited to read this and it sounds interesting.
Military Writers Society of America 2011 Book Award winner: From the bestselling author of Platoon comes a military thriller about one Marine’s quest to leave no POW behind.
The death of a salty old senior noncommissioned officer who ran special operations in Vietnam leads US Marine Gunner Shake Davis on a shocking and potentially lethal mission to find out what happened to hundreds of American prisoners of war. Written by bestselling author Dale A. Dye and based on Oliver Stone’s classic film.
With “plenty of action and lots of military detail” (Vietnam Veterans of America), Laos File is a great read for fans of Tom Clancy and W. E. B. Griffin.

4. Audible/MP3 (Narrator)

The Pit Stop: This Stop Could Be Life or Death
Written by: Carmen DeSousa
Narrated by: Michelle Babb
This sounds like an engaging mystery.
I received this from the narrator.
Publisher's Summary
When what seems like a normal pit stop turns into more than just gas and food, a lost traveler finds himself searching for the truth of a 20-year-old mystery.
Detective Gino Canale doesn't believe in a hereafter, let alone ghosts looking for closure. But when his reoccurring dream implies that his grandparents' deaths might actually have been homicides, not to mention that he's hearing bells that don't exist and smelling a pipe when no one is smoking, he realizes he's either connecting to the other side - or going crazy.
And he's not sure which thought scares him more.
©2012, 2016 Carmen DeSousa (P)2016 Carmen DeSousa

June 5, 2016 - Current with Reading The One Year Bible again along with my husband and others from our church. I will also be listening (sometimes) to the companion commentary online.

I posted three reviews last week so I still have four pending reviews due.

I am finally getting to the five nine, now seven nine (again) back to five four author ebook reviews committed with no specific dates.
My NetGalley shelves are back up to seven with one of those pulled in this week.

I have two upcoming releases going up on eTreasure's NetGalley this week.

Welcome to Mailbox Monday.
Mailbox Monday is a gathering place for readers to share the books that came into their house last week and explore great book blogs. This Meme started with Marcia at A Girl and Her Books (fka The Printed Page) and after a tour of hosts has returned to its permanent home at Mailbox Monday. Thanks to the ladies sharing hosting duties: Leslie of Under My Apple Tree, Serena of Savvy Verse & Wit and Vicki of I'd Rather Be at the Beach. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists.

This week I received three ebook titles, two from NetGalley and one from the author.
I resisted kindle titles other than the usual free ones.

Are your mailbox and TBR piles blooming?

Review Titles

I was invited to read these two titles through NetGalley:

A License to Wed
by Diana Quincy
"...a sizzling tale of forbidden love between a socialite and a scholar—who might just be an infamous spy."

by Hayley Stone
"...action-packed science-fiction debut introduces a chilling future and an unforgettable heroine."

I received this title from the author:

Dead Lawyers Don't Lie: A Gripping Thriller (Jake Wolfe Book 1)
by Mark Nolan
"...a gripping thriller is full of suspense, plot twists and surprises."




Over the past week I only added 38 free Kindle titles to my library. Titles found linked through Bookbub, Bookfun, Ereader News Today, Free Par-tay, Ignite Your Book, Inspired Reads, Pixel of Ink or Kindle ebooks.


  1. I am loving the look and sound of your new audiobooks Martha! Sounds like you had a great week reading. I have been devouring audiobooks. hope the week is cool and full of awesome reads!

  2. Glad things are better at work. Have a great week in books!

  3. Dead Lawyers Don't Die, sounds like a good mystery.
    I am reading The Bookie's Son by Andrew Goldstein, pretty good read.
    Have a super reading week everyone.

  4. Birthright is on my list for next week. I'm glad you are liking the series.

    My Sunday Summary

  5. Enjoy your reads and hope your office situation improves this week a bit more to give you a bit more time for reading!


Your comments are always appreciated!


Related Posts with Thumbnails