Contact email: mesreads AT
###Winner Announcement Posts are linked here.###

GIVEAWAYS ARE NOW LOCATED ON THEIR OWN PAGE - CLICK ON TAB ABOVE; Giveaways also linked on right sidebar.

Wednesday, August 20, 2014

Book Review: SEAL Team Six: Hunt the Wolf by Don Mann

This is an action packed and engaging story.
by Don Mann 
A SEAL Team Six Novel
  • File Size: 704 KB
  • Print Length: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Mulholland Books (June 26, 2012)
  • Sold by: Hachette Book Group
  • ASIN: B006L87BUW
Genre: Military Thriller, Action
My Rating: 4.5 of 5.0

Book Description
Publication Date: June 26, 2012
Navy SEAL Team Six commando Don Mann infuses his debut military thriller with the real-life details only a true insider can reveal.
In the midst of a grueling training exercise, Thomas Crocker, USN, unearths a pocket of terrorism that leads straight from the slopes of K2 to the cities of Europe and the Middle East. Crocker and his team, who are trained for the most intense kinds of combat in the most extreme environments, must blaze through a perilous web of terrorist cells to track down a ruthless sheikh who is running an international kidnapping ring before his captives pay the ultimate price.
HUNT THE WOLF is an adrenaline-packed novel sure to appeal to fans of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor, featuring the world's most elite soldiers and based on the experiences of renowned SEAL Team 6 commando Don Mann.

Crocker is a Navy Seal team leader who likes to ‘get the job done’ with minimal mess and minimal collateral damage. He and his team are sent into a covert op to take out Zaman, an al-Qaeda terrorist. They destroy the dwelling target thinking they have accomplished the mission. There are two problems though and Crocker takes them both personally. First, a young girl is killed in the blast. Second, it appears that the primary target was allowed to exit the building in disguise. Although unavoidable, these errors still impact Crocker’s confidence, not to mention the fact that his superiors don’t want to give him a second chance to get Zaman.

Crocker has a thin clue to pursue and, unlike the powers who spend time disputing policies, Croker is a man who takes action. While waiting for more information Crocker and his team head to climb the dangerous mountain of Concordia in Pakistan. The climb keeps the teams’ skills sharp and also provides them cover to be in the country. Before beginning the climb Crocker is asked to help track down a daughter of an important Norwegian official who has gone missing. Crocker’s gut tells him that there is a connection between Zaman and the slave traders who have been taking beautiful blonde girls to deliver them to a ruthless sheikh.

There is plenty of action that keeps this moving at a fast pace. Although the climb is a little off track, I really enjoyed the action, the danger and the excitement of the climb as well as the danger of the hunt for the kidnappers. Crocker is a strong, honorable and steady character. The other team members are not deeply developed although each has their own skills and foibles.

Author Mann creates a reasonably realistic plot with engaging action and manages to convey some philosophical statements along the way. Caution: there is some bad language and, needless to say, violence. I would gladly read more from this author and more in this series.

I picked this up to read through NetGalley.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Your comments are always appreciated!


Related Posts with Thumbnails