Contact email: mesreads AT
###Winner Announcement Posts are linked here.###

GIVEAWAYS ARE NOW LOCATED ON THEIR OWN PAGE - CLICK ON TAB ABOVE; Giveaways also linked on right sidebar.

Sunday, October 30, 2011

It's Monday! What Are You Reading? October 31, 2011

This meme starts at Book Journey!
What Are You Reading, is where we gather to share what we have read this past week and what we plan to read this week. It is a great way to network with other bloggers, see some wonderful blogs, and put new titles on your reading list.

I had a really good reading week, finishing five books.  I posted four reviews, two with giveaways. I had an Author guest post with tour wide giveaway and an announcement for special offers from Sourcebooks.  I posted my regular Friday Pick Giveaway; Saturday Sharing Beyond Books, and Sunday posts. 

I did make four review posts last week and this coming week I think I will be posting five.  I'm working towards getting caught up on the posts and reads I have lined up.  :-)

I visited a dozen or so blogs for Monday Reading last week to say "Hi."
These were last week's posts plus a Winner post not listed.

Finished Reading:
1.  Print/Kindle:
by Sara Humphreys
This is a good paranormal.
Read for Sourcebooks; 
review to be posted this week.

2. Audible 

by J.D. Robb
Another really good Eve Dallas story. Review linked above - see comments on emotion shown through the writing and narration.

3. Kindle:
The Path Home
by Caedem Marquez
I enjoyed this sweet read.
Read for the Author.

Review will be posted this week.

4.  Print/Kindle:
Utterly Charming
by Kristine Grayson
This was a fun read.
I'll post the review this week.
Read for Sourcebooks.

5. Print 
(But I'm Glad I Was)
by Bill Cosby
  A collection of wit from this funny man!
I will post a review this week.
Read for Center Street. 
Book Description
November 1, 2011
The world's most beloved funnyman is back with his first humor book since the bestselling Cosbyology. In this hilarious new collection of observations, Cosby brings us more of his wonderful and wacky insights into the human condition that are sure to become classics. In the tradition of Fat Albert, Cosby introduces a host of new characters, including Peanut Armhouse and Old Mother Harold. Not since Mushmouth, Dumb Donald, Bucky, and the Cosby Kids has there been such a memorable cast.
Over the past century, few entertainers have achieved the legendary status of William H. Cosby, Jr. His success spans five decades and virtually all media-remarkable accomplishments for a kid who emerged from humble beginnings in a Philly housing project.
The doctor of comedy holds forth on everything from a game show contestant's confusing origins, to a grandchild with a Godzilla infatuation, to his first love Bernadette, and many more delightful digressions.
Bill Cosby may not have asked to be born, but we're sure glad he was.

Line Edits/Releases: I got some print books loaded this week.

Currently reading:

I have two more discs to finish this interesting mystery.  I am reviewing this for Audiobook Jukebox and Simon & Schuster Audio.  

by Thomas Mullen
Another "Time Cop" type Story.
Reading for Little Brown & Co.
Book Description
Publication Date: September 28, 2011  
A fast-paced literary thriller that recalls dystopian classics such as 1984 and Fahrenheit 451, from the award-winning author of The Last Town on Earth.

Zed is an agent from the future. A time when the world’s problems have been solved. No hunger. No war. No despair.
His mission is to keep it that way. Even if it means ensuring every cataclysm throughout history runs its course—especially the Great Conflagration, an imminent disaster in our own time that Zed has been ordered to protect at all costs.

Zed’s mission will disrupt the lives of a disgraced former CIA agent; a young Washington lawyer grieving over the loss of her brother, a soldier in Iraq; the oppressed employee of a foreign diplomat; and countless others. But will he finish his final mission before the present takes precedence over a Perfect Future? One that may have more cracks than he realizes?

by Gillian Bradshaw  
I will start this one tomorrow.
Reading for Sourcebooks.
Book Description
October 1, 2011
Arthur Pendragon strives to unite a fragmented empire as his bastard son threatens to tear down the king, his queen, and their bravest champions. From the sudden death of innocence to a perilous campaign that strikes at the very heart of the empire, this third and final book of the acclaimed trilogy by Gillian Bradshaw offers the reader a front-row seat as Arthur's dream and his kingdom collapse around him.

Sierra Bride
by Suzanne Barrett
This review will post Saturday November 5;
for 11/6 release date.
Reading for the Author.
Description: Sierra County, California - 1883
Widowed rancher Wade Guthrie needs help raising his unruly young daughter and advertises for a housekeeper. Instead, he finds himself saddled with a mail order bride.
Irish immigrant Corrie Kiernan needs a place to hide. Witness to a brutal murder at the mill where she worked, she’ll do anything to escape the killer who now threatens her life, even if it means marrying a stranger and weaving a web of deception. Falling in love with the handsome rancher is easy, but can a man who values honesty above everything else love a woman whose life is a lie?

by Cara Elliott
This looks good and needs to be read for 11/10 blog tour.
Reading for Hachette.
 Book Description
Series: Lords of Midnight | Publication Date: October 25, 2011
Outspoken and independent, Lady Alexa Bingham enjoys the heady freedom of making all her own decisions, even though the challenges of overseeing her family's country estate are daunting. But when a chance encounter with London's most notorious rake awakens a secret longing for adventure, she accepts her aunt's invitation for a Season in Town . . . only to find that breaking the rules of the ton has serious consequences.

The Earl of Killingworth uses his rakehell reputation to hide the fact that poverty has forced him to work for a living. As the owner of a gambling den and brothel, Connor has no time for glittering ballrooms or innocent young ladies. But after a reckless wager leaves him with a new business partner, he is forced to take a risky gamble . . . Will the cards fall in their favor? Alexa and Connor begin to play a dangerous game of intrigue and deception as they seek to outwit a cunning adversary who wants to put them permanently out of business. But if they are not careful, it is the flames of their own fiery attraction that may destroy them.

I am also listening to The Listener's Bible NIV 
read by Max McLean. 
I am at Lamentations 1 and Hebrews 1.

Line Edits: I still have one more of the Dark Bride Anthology series and I am continuing to set up print releases.

Remaining September (or October) Author Selections - These are now into November and I really want to get to them in between the publisher selections which I will post next week.
Karen Wiesner - Love Is Blind and It Don't Pay the Bills Either (Denim Blues Mysteries, Book 2) (read)
Souls on (B)oring Street [Denim Blues Mysteries Book 3]
Anne Patrick Renegade Hearts
Nibi Soto - The Chronicles of Quant
Nathan Patrick Hardt - The Second Sonata

[To be posted:
These were read and ready for reviews for Authors. I am sending out interviews for these. I hope to post them all soon.
Quest for Magic by Jean Hart Stewart - Read; review to be posted with interview.
Seeing for the First Time (What You See is What You Get) and To See (What You See is What You Get) by Nicole Zoltack - Both Read; setting up author interview with reviews.
Steamrolled by Pauline Baird Jone. Read; review to be posted with author interview.]

No comments:

Post a Comment

Your comments are always appreciated!


Related Posts with Thumbnails