Contact email: mesreads AT
###Winner Announcement Posts are linked here.###

GIVEAWAYS ARE NOW LOCATED ON THEIR OWN PAGE - CLICK ON TAB ABOVE; Giveaways also linked on right sidebar.

Tuesday, July 12, 2016

Sunday Post July 10, 2016/It's Monday! What are You Reading? Plus Mailbox Monday July 11, 2016

I miss-scheduled this so it is posting late... but better late then not at all.

I am linking with Sunday Post at Caffeinated Book Reviewer.

It's Monday! What Are You Reading now at The Book Date.
Thank you to Sheila for the years that she handled this meme.
Thank you to Kathryn for taking up the baton.
What Are You Reading, is where we gather to share what we have read this past week and what we plan to read this week. It is a great way to network with other bloggers, see some wonderful blogs, and put new titles on your reading list.

I had another sketchy work week last week as I spent time in Alabama with my Hubby. He finally got discharged on Thursday and I brought him back to our home town where he is in rehab facility five minutes away. Now I visit for breakfast and dinner till 9pm so I get a little time at home. He is still in a lot of pain but he gets stronger each day and is getting needed physical therapy support to recoup his strength without overdoing.
I continue to give thanks for all the prayers, well wishes and support!

My reading was good due to driving and hospital time when I couldn't use the computer.  I finished three books, two ebooks and one audio. I did get four reviews up as well as usual memes.
I got to visit a little early in the week while learning my new tablet.
Thanks as always to all the nice people who visit me.

These were last week's posts:

Finished Reading:
1. eBook/Kindle (iRead Book Tours)

Regina Shen: Defiance
by Lance Erlick
This continues to be an engaging YA, female society dystopian series.
I received this through iReads Book Tours.

Review and Tour giveaway are linked above.

2. Audible/MP3 (TBR)

Written by: Daniel Suarez
Narrated by: Jeff Gurner
This is a very intense AI suspense/mystery - well done!
This is a TBR from my own Audible shelf.
Click on book title for full description.

3. eBook/Kindle (NG)

A License to Wed: Rebellious Brides
by Diana Quincy
This sounds fun. Release date 7/5/16.
I received this title from the publisher through NetGalley.
My review is linked above.

Currently reading:
1. Audible/MP3 (My shelf)

Burning Nation: Book 2 of Divided We Fall
Written by: Trent Reedy
Narrated by: Andrew Eiden
Chilling, scary and sad. This is an intense sequel from my own Audible credits (2016).
Publisher's Summary
In this wrenching sequel to Divided We Fall, Danny and friends fight to defend Idaho against a federal takeover and the ravages of a Burning Nation. At the end of Divided We Fall, Danny Wright's beloved Idaho had been invaded by the federal government, their electricity shut off, their rights suspended. Danny goes into hiding with his friends in order to remain free. But after the state declares itself a Republic, Idaho rises to fight in a second American civil war, and Danny is right in the center of the action, running guerrilla missions with his fellow soldiers to break the federal occupation. Yet what at first seems like a straightforward battle against governmental repression quickly grows more complicated, as more states secede, more people die, and Danny discovers the true nature of some of his new allies.
Chilling, powerful, and all too plausible, Burning Nation confirms Trent Reedy's place as a provocative new voice in YA fiction.
©2015 Trent Reedy (P)2015 Scholastic Inc.

2. eBook/Kindle (NG)

by Hayley Stone
This is action packed and hard to put down.
(Releasing 7/26.)
I received this through NetGalley.
Perfect for fans of Robopocalypse, this action-packed science-fiction debut introduces a chilling future and an unforgettable heroine with a powerful role to play in the battle for humanity’s survival.
The machines have risen, but not out of malice. They were simply following a command: to stop the endless wars that have plagued the world throughout history. Their solution was perfectly logical. To end the fighting, they decided to end the human race.
A potent symbol of the resistance, Rhona Long has served on the front lines of the conflict since the first Machinations began—until she is killed during a rescue mission gone wrong. Now Rhona awakens to find herself transported to a new body, complete with her DNA, her personality, even her memories. She is a clone . . . of herself.
Trapped in the shadow of the life she once knew, the reincarnated Rhona must find her place among old friends and newfound enemies—and quickly. For the machines are inching closer to exterminating humans for good. And only Rhona, whoever she is now, can save them.

3. eBook/Kindle (Author)

Indiana Belle (American Journey Book 3)
by John A. Heldt
I received this from the author, having enjoyed another of his "time-travel" novels.
Providence, Rhode Island, 2017. When doctoral student Cameron Coelho, 28, opens a package from Indiana, he finds more than private papers that will help him with his dissertation. He finds a photograph of a beautiful society editor murdered in 1925 and clues to a century-old mystery. Within days, he meets Geoffrey Bell, the "time-travel professor," and begins an unlikely journey through the Roaring Twenties. Filled with history, romance, and intrigue, INDIANA BELLE follows a lonely soul on the adventure of a lifetime as he searches for love and answers in the age of Prohibition, flappers, and jazz.

I suspect (hope) I will get to start another audio late in the week.

July 3, 2016 - I was caught up through June 30th but now have to catch up to date in July with Reading The One Year Bible again along with my husband and others from our church. I will also be listening (sometimes) to the companion commentary online.

I posted four reviews this past week and have six pending. Two of the pending reviews will post the week of the 25th so I hope to continue to catch up before then.

I am finally getting to the five nine, now seven nine (again) back to four five author ebook reviews committed with no specific dates.
My NetGalley shelves are down to four when I finish the one I am reading this week.

I hope to get a couple of backlist titles up at eTreasure's NetGalley page in the near future.

Welcome to Mailbox Monday.
Mailbox Monday is a gathering place for readers to share the books that came into their house last week and explore great book blogs. This Meme started with Marcia at A Girl and Her Books (fka The Printed Page) and after a tour of hosts has returned to its permanent home at Mailbox Monday. Thanks to the ladies sharing hosting duties: Leslie of Under My Apple Tree, Serena of Savvy Verse & Wit and Vicki of I'd Rather Be at the Beach. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists.

This week I received two new NetGalley titles.
I resisted purchases but picked up more free kindle titles.

Are your mailbox and TBR piles blooming?

Review Titles
Recieved from NetGalley:
The Steam Man of the Prairies
by Edward S. Ellis
"One of the earliest examples of steampunk literature, this 1868 story was actually written during the Victorian era and was among the first American science-fiction novels." -- How could I resist??

A Pancake House Mystery
by Sarah Fox
The cover pulled me in for this cozy mystery.




Over the past week I added 42 free Kindle titles to my library. Titles found linked through Bookbub, Bookfun, Ereader News Today, Free Par-tay, Ignite Your Book, Inspired Reads, Pixel of Ink or Kindle ebooks.


  1. Nice to have your hubby nearer although I guess that cuts out the audio listening in the car. Hope he continues to improve and that you are taking care of yourself too.

  2. Daemon sounds really good. I read one of the author's other books (Influx) and loved it.

  3. Love the title of the Pancake House mystery :)
    Continued good wishes for your husband!

  4. Right now I am reading Homicide in Hardcover by Kate Carlisle.
    I hope everyone has a great week.
    Best wishes to you and your husband, hoping he has a speedy recovery.

  5. So glad that things are moving forward with your husband. I hope that he continues to recover even more quickly.

    I Do My First Guest Post | Sunday Summary #10


Your comments are always appreciated!


Related Posts with Thumbnails